Khyber Pakhtunkhawa Blood Transfusion Programme

The population of Khyber Pakhtunkhwas is estimated to be 26.8 million with a land area of 74,521 . Khyber Pakhtunkhwa is divided into 25 districts. There are 20 settled area districts and 5 Provincially Administered Tribal Areas (PATA) districts. Peshawar is the provincial capital.

There are 1,607 health facilities in the province with 30,188 personnels. Many hospital-based and standalone blood banks are working in the province. The public sector blood banks are 35 while 68 private/NGO sector blood banks are operating in the province. The blood transfusion sector operates under the NWFP Transfusion of Safe Blood Act 1999. A Blood Transfusion Authority has been notified and staff recruited in 2014 to regulate the blood transfusion services in the province. A provincial steering committee has also been notified.

The budget of the provincial PC-1 was PKR 190.17 million for the SBTP Phase I. In Phase I, one RBC was established in Peshawar at the Hayatabad Medical Complex with a capacity of collecting 50,000 blood donations per year and is linked to 6 existing HBBs of Peshawar. The Phase II budget is PKR 713.368 million. And RBCs are planned for Abbottabad and D.I. Khan along with up gradation of the existing hospital blood banks.